Event: Prince Parade 2019

If you’ve been in this manga/anime/cosplay hobby for long enough and go for events, I’m sure there comes a point when you’re too busy and/or tired to even consider going for every single event/convention in your area. If you haven’t hit that point yet… I’d think you’re either still pretty young and energetic, or live somewhere with an unfortunate lack of conventions /o\

I actually didn’t even know an event was happening that weekend and wasn’t planning on going, but it so happened I was meeting friends for lunch that day and we all decided to drop by.

Prince Parade was held on 18 Aug (Sat) at the Suntec City Convention Centre, Level 3 Concourse. I thought Anime@North West was a small event. Prince Parade was smaller.

According to its description,
Prince Parade is the first female-oriented Japanese pop culture festival in Singapore created for fans by fans.
and started out as a gathering of 2D idol fans. It’s since grown into a full-fledged otome festival organised by independent doujin artist freebird. The event pretty much celebrates all things otoge as well as 2D idols.

Artist booths made up the majority of the event set up. There were a few other stores like La Tendo and Otomebashi as well as event ones with game activities like a stamp rally, a shooting game and a themed cafe to name a few. Guest DJ Dano was on music for the event. Share your Spare Singapore also had a booth there to collect donations of plushes and toys for kids in the Philippines.

The cosplayers in the photos posted below are friends/acquaintances. I didn’t take any other photos of cosplayers, haha.

      
Shanneh                                                                   Melisa Eats and Mia

As you can see from the photos above, there really weren’t many people who turned up at all, which was to be expected considering its target audience. I don’t have much interested in the otome/idol/related-media scene, but for a small event organised by fans for fans, it was a very relaxed and cozy time. It was really nice being able to just hang out and talk to friends unhurriedly. The atmosphere was pretty darn chill.

Nifflers are so cute but a MENACE /o\

The only thing I spent on was on this suuuuuper adorable klepto-gangster handmade by Vampkrafters. I’m not that into the Harry Potter fandom, but I do have a soft spot for Fantastic Beasts in general, mostly due to the beasts ❤

Prince Parade wasn’t much for me overall, but it’s always nice getting to see and speak to friends in the same hobby circle. Even if we have each other on sns, it’s not like we’re all close enough that we meet often, or at all, outside of an event. We might not meet outside of our hobbies, but I still consider them as treasured friends and don’t see anything wrong with that. It’s a nice break in big hectic events.

The next few months until the end of the year is going to be crazy busy for me and I honestly don’t think I’ll be able to blog much. Even for this post, I’m already turning back the clock for it by like a month, haha! We’ll see how it goes. If the last third of the year’s crazy busy for you too, I’m rooting for you! Let’s do our best to get through it together (ง •̀_•́)ง

One thought on “Event: Prince Parade 2019

  1. Pingback: Event: Gamestart 2019 | Manga, my life.

Leave a comment