My E3 2017 experience

Every year I ask myself why I try to follow E3 news and streams when I don’t even play 99% of the games showcased/talked about… and then watch all the press cons, trailers and gameplay anyway.

Catching up with Microsoft’s stuff while watching Mario+Rabbids gameplay, but couldn’t multitask so well…

(Backpost because I forgot to blog about E3 last month! OTL)

If you’re not familiar with it, The Electronic Entertainment Expo (known as E3) is a HUGE (probably the biggest) news event for electronic gaming fans around the world. Presented by US’s Entertainment Software Association (ESA), it is used by many video game publishers and accessory manufacturers to introduce and advertise upcoming games and game-related merchandise. It is usually held at the Los Angeles Convention Center (LACC) with a total programme spanning a week. [Wikipedia] This year’s E3 was officially held from June 13-15, but a few Press Conferences from companies took place before the official expo dates.

I wasn’t as hardworking as the previous year and the year before when I actually stayed up to watch as much E3 footage as I could cram in a few nights, but I did manage to catch a few press conferences and gameplay along with a few other interviews I was interested in.

And I definitely don’t regret getting only 3 hours of sleep between watching Ubisoft and Sony’s Press Conferences live!

Don’t laugh, I honestly REALLY want to play Mario+Rabbids Kingdom Battle.

It’s always so darn interesting to listen and see the current lineup of big games available or soon-to-be in the industry. It’s also fun to see the internet’s reactions and happenings in real-time when game reveals and news are shared — like people joking about Microsoft’s many many uses of ‘EXCLUSIVE’, the crazy fans going mad about announcements of The Evil Within 2 and Beyond Good and Evil 2 etc., and the secret (and not so secret) eye-sparkling of anime nerds at Dragon Ball FighterZ to name a few.

With my bias towards Nintendo’s handheld consoles and lack of home console, it’s a given that Nintendo Spotlight and Treehouse would be what I kept up with the most. Splatoon 2, Arms, new Breath Of The Wild DLCs, Mario+Rabbids… If I wasn’t considering saving up for a Switch anytime soon, I AM NOW!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhhh! I’d love to be able to play these games! Got the chance to play Arms, Mario Kart and Just Dance 2017 on friends’ Switches and had loads of fun!!

Ahem, guess I’ll have to keep this excitement reigned in while I do my best to save patiently for a Nintendo Switch.

If you’re like me and interested in games news, but couldn’t be bothered to keep up with the Expo and/or live halfway across the other side of the world, you can still find all the press conferences and news online. Even if most of my hobby-life is devoted to other things, games are always constantly in the running for time too!

I… uh… probably need to get my priorities in order.

Leave a Reply

