Live: The Music of Hans Zimmer VS John Williams

The moment I saw the flyer of the orchestral concert at a Sistic ticketing service booth 2 months ago and read, ‘Hans Zimmer‘ on the title, I was pretty much sold.

     

The Music of Hans Zimmer VS John Williams was held at the Mastercard Theatres at Marina Bay Sands from 10-11 March 2017 and I’m so glad I got the chance to hear such iconic film music from an orchestra live.

It’s not that I’m into music and composers much; somehow I just remembered the name ‘Hans Zimmer‘ and the fact that he did music from a few movies I love.

John Williams was also a name that sounded familiar but I couldn’t remember what he composed for until I read all the super cool movies listed on the concert’s flyer that I picked up.

The concert was lots of fun! A big part of it due to the lively conductor, Anthony Inglis XD He was such a good sport, wearing costumes and giving background info + cracking jokes etc. He first came on to the stage on a bicycle with a plush of E.T. in the front basket, hahahaha. Of course, opening with John Williams’s music from E.T.

Just like what was advertised on the flyer, iconic music of John Williams and Hans Zimmer were played, like (in no specific order):

  • E.T.: Music from the bicycle flying scene and when E.T. boards his spacecraft at the end. (John Williams)
  • Da Vinci Code (Hans Zimmer)
  • Inception – Time (Hans Zimmer)
  • Harry Potter – Hedwig’s theme )
  • The Dark Knight (Hans Zimmer)
  • Gladiator (Hans Zimmer)
  • Schindler’s List (John Williams)
  • Indiana Jones (John Williams)
  • Jurassic Park (John Williams)
  • Star Wars – A New Hope (Princess Leia’s theme), as a tribute to the late Carrie Fisher (John Williams)
  • Star Wars – The Imperial March (Darth Vader’s theme) (John Williams)
  • The whole of the Star Wars end credits theme (John Williams) [encore]
  • Superman (John Williams) [encore]

The whole concert turned out to be about 3 hours long, which was pretty surprising. I don’t think I missed anything that was played in the list above, but I guess looking at the number of tracks (is that the word to use in this case?) that was played against how long each one was, the concert being longer than I expected shouldn’t have been surprising at all.

Besides conductor, Anthony Inglis wearing costumes for Pirates of the Caribbean, Star Wars and Superman, there was also quite a bit of audience engagement, asking us to sing a little of the old Batman theme as a prelude to The Dark Knight — I squealed a little when it was announced cos I really like The Dark Knight HAHA — and pretend to rip open our shirts before Superman. That was really amusing. We also got told some background information and cool stories about the composers/the movies that were produced.

  

It was an entertainment bonus that the lasers were done so well and that Star Wars cosplayers came out at the end of the show to take photos with fans after the concert, ahahaha. They actually appeared on higher platforms beside the stage too for the Star Wars end credits theme encore but from where my friends and I were sitting, we couldn’t see them all that well.

I’m really glad I got the chance to listen to such iconic film music from an orchestra live 🙂

Leave a Reply

