Anime Season Interests: Winter 2016-2017

I AM NOT KEEPING UP WITH THE TIMES … OTL

It’s about 1 and a half weeks into 2017 and I’m feeling so manga-deprived because I haven’t had the chance to read anything since catching up to available scanlated chapters of Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu on New Year’s Day. There’s always something else that I end up doing first — like going through SNS, Dayre-ing or editing photos — so by the time I finish all that, I’m already dozing -_-

November and December was so hectic, the only anime series I actually finished last season (Fall 2016)  was Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure Part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable ): That was amazing, by the way. I love Jojo Part 4 to bits. We’re all waiting for a Part 5: Vento Aureo anime now! \o/

Haven’t got a break from the swamp of end-2016, this January and February’s turning out to be pretty darn packed as well. Above getting used to my new job and schedule, there’s other responsibilities like added house chores and Chinese New Year holiday celebrations + dinners to get through. But as usual, the one thing that I’ve decided to bury myself under is Cosplay plans. HAHAHA. A photographer friend will be returning overseas to continue their studies at the end of the Feb, so a few other friends and I are trying to catch them for shoots while they’re available. Digging my own grave I guess, what’s new.

But I digress, the Winter 2016 – 2017 has started and here are the television-airing-anime that have piqued my interest this season (in no specific order):

  1. Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Fuatatabi-hen 「昭和元禄落語心中~助六再び篇~」Descending Stories: Shouwa and Genroku Era Lover’s Suicide Through Rakugo –> Rakugo Shinjuu actually piqued my interest originally because I recognised the character art was similar to a Yaoi manga I’d read previously. Then when I found out it was on Rakugo and started… that was pretty much hook-line-sinker. Totally binged Season 1 and LOVED IT. Didn’t realise the 2nd season was airing so soon until a friend told me when I was finishing Season 1 a week and a half ago. I’m really looking forward to the 2nd season, but this might be something I’ll wait for to finish airing before binging XD
  2. ACCA 13-ku Kansatsu-ka「ACCA13区監察課」 ACCA: 13th Ward Observation Department –> First saw the character designs for this on Twitter awhile back and I had no idea what series it was, but the the designs looked awfully familiar. Googled and found out ACCA is by a Yaoi-mangaka that I’ve read the works of before (I feel like this happens a lot -_-), Ono Natsume-sensei. In addition to the mature, laid-back atmosphere and slice-of-life of her stories, her distinctive art style really stuck in my mind. Tried searching if ACCA’s been scanlated, but unfortunately not, so I’m looking forward to trying this series out. With how laid-back I’m predicting it to be, I’ll probably wait for the series to finish before binging it too.
  3. Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans 2nd Season「機動戦士ガンダム 鉄血のオルフェンズ 第2期」 Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron Blooded Orphans 2nd Season –> This series is in its 2nd cour.  I haven’t caught up with last cour’s episodes but I still definitely need to continue this, hahahahaha.
  4. All Out!!「オールアウト!!」–> This series is in its 2nd cour. Also haven’t caught up with this from last cour’s episodes, but I’d like to and hopefully be able to.

There are a few more that sound interesting and I wouldn’t mind trying out, but this is no doubt the shortest list I’ve come up with since starting to write these Anime Season Interests o_o . I’m pretty sure there’ll be many more series for me to invest in in the Spring 2016 Season in a few month’s time, but for now, this is it — 2 new ones and 2 to continue. Thank goodness as well, because I’m not sure I’ll be able to watch much in the first place. I mean, just look at my lack of manga-time and I already prefer reading manga to watching anime XD Why I still cosplay when it kills me in a vicious cycle, I cannot fathom. But we do it anyway.

There’s actually one more thing I’d like to mention I’m looking forward to watching soon and that is the 2nd season of Netflix’s Voltron Legendary Defender!!!!!!! SO FRIGGING HYPED FOR IT!! All episodes will be premiered in about a week time on 20th Jan, but because I don’t have Netflix, I’m not sure when I’ll get the chance to watch it. BUT THAT’S ALRIGHT, I JUST REALLY CAN’T WAIT! One of the major reasons why I’ve been busy has also been because I was rushing a Voltron cosplay with a friend and photoshoot last week in celebration for this. Still deciding if I should start sharing my cosplay photos properly here since this blog’s mostly dedicated to manga and anime, but if you’d like to see some photos anyway, you can probably check out my Instagram: killua93. But, yes, I posted a First-Impressions on VLD’s Season 1 awhile back and now there’s no escape from this hell. If you’d like, please join us and watch it too :))

Well, in any case, back to the daily grind and other responsibilities I guess. I hope you all find/have something that lifts your spirits, makes you happy or keeps you going like how my hobbies do to me ~

If you guys have any anime this season that you’d like to share your love of, please don’t hesitate to share. I’d totally consider watching it too! What series are you looking forward to this season?

5 thoughts on “Anime Season Interests: Winter 2016-2017

  1. /presses the stalker button on your insta
    (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)(͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)(͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    It sounds like a pretty solid list of titles to watch tbh. The only anime I saw from Fall was Yuri on Ice and Haikyuu S3, the rest was all from other seasons/years. I’m always behind tbh 😹😹😹

    Liked by 1 person

    • omg ahahahahha ////// /o\ thank you OTL
      Hmm, a short list nontheless though. I totally feel you about being behind. There’s just no way it’s possible to keep up with everything with the rest of life’s responsibilities getting in the way OTL Good luck to us man hahahahhahaha sob ;_;

      Like

      • Hehehe (*^3^)/~♡
        Who has time for long lists when we still have to watch some of the classics, 90s and 00s anime + all the new barrage of anime each season?? 😹😹
        Good luck, have fun and rip 😹

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Anime Season Interests: Spring 2017 | Manga, my life.

  3. Pingback: First Impressions (Anime): ACCA 13-ku Kansatsu-ka | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

