Event: EOY 2016

You’ve probably realised by now, but Singapore’s cosplay and pop-culture event timeline picks up from the middle of the year (July) with Cosfest, then it’s pretty much continuous where there’s an event every few weeks until the end of year.  The last cosplay and pop-culture event in Singapore for 2016 happened last weekend.

My experience there wasn’t that eventful but I had lots of fun anyway 🙂 Events are always fun \o/

EOY Cosplay Festival 2016 was held on 10 and 11 Dec (Saturday and Sunday) at the Marina Barrage. Besides the usual reasons of wanting to see friends, being able to cosplay, getting merch and being able to meet guests, there was also the added motivation of it being a free event with no entrance fee. Unfortunately, unlike a lot of other events, it was held outdoors, so in Sunny Singapore, it’s pretty darn hot and not as favourable for any event-goers in general.

There were still lots of people though.

img_9616

Subjected myself to the abuse of the heat, I osplayed Hashimoto Kazuma from Cheer Danshi solo on Saturday. I didn’t know anyone who liked Cheer Danshi enough to want to cosplay from the series, so this was quite a self-indulgent plan, ehehe XD

img_9683

When you have to cosplay by yourself I guess. Thanks friend for helping me hold my partner.

One of the reasons why I like Cheer Danshi so much is because I’m just a little bit familiar with the sport of cheerleading (very little). Their team dynamics were also really interesting and amusing. The series covered lots of each team member’s personal growth as part of the Breakers (their team) in a very heartwarming way. It was a short, fun ride.

I’d wanted to cosplay Kazu during Sportsfest a few months back, but I couldn’t get the costume ready in time so abandoned that plan for awhile and finally got the chance to do this. Woohoo!

img_9568

Went to the event grounds earlier on Sat with Seth to get into cosplay. She was doing Akaashi from Haikyuu!!

Actually met a few friends who turned out to be Cheer Danshi fans as well so I might have found a partner to cosplay with next time \o/ YAY!

Hadn’t really looked at EOY’s schedule and highlights before going down to the event, but thank goodness I managed to catch the guest artiste I had wanted to see perform on Saturday and Sunday! \o/

img_9571 img_9866

Even though I don’t regularly listen to his music, That (ざっと) has a really clear, soothing voice and sounded so good in real life. He’s a prominent producer in the Utaite community and composes/writes songs for other Vocaloid/Utaite as well.

img_9574

Managed to get his albums and autograph WOOTWOOT! This is actually the 2nd time I’m meeting him. The first time was when I was in Tokyo 2 years ago for 3 weeks and I went for a gig by SLH along with a few other odorite. He was there hanging out with his good friends, SLH.

Besides the guest artiste programs, there were many stage performances happening throughout the weekend, like local dance and singer groups performing. Some of them were pretty darn awesome. There was also a pop-up cosplay cafe going on and a photography booth run by a studio along with other food stalls around. You can check out their handy guide for more info on what was at EOY.

Originally planned to cosplay something else with a friend on Sunday, but stuff happened and we decided to drop that plan. Ended up going down to EOY much later on Sunday  just to watch That’s live and meet friends there.

Almost forgot to take photos of cosplayers both days because I spent so much time chatting with friends instead, oops. Thank goodness I usually ask for photos of friends who are in cosplay anyway ahaha.

Most of the cosplayers below are friends/acquaiantances. If you happen to know the name and/or page of the cosplayers above that I didn’t mention the name of, please tell me.

 img_9800 img_9596

Tako                                                          Mond and Alice

img_9877 img_9888

img_9795 img_9624

Lockie                                                      Kyra and Marcus

 img_9886 img_9781

Tako and Kana

img_9590

Seth was kind enough to help me take a few photos of my cosplay 🙂 Thanks Seth.

img_9668-edited img_9670

P: Luseth
Cheer Danshi (Cheer Boys) 

Hashimoto Kazuma: Killua

My damage for the event honestly wasn’t that bad. I think it was the 2 That albums that really burned the hole in my wallet much deeper. Got a few gifts from friends as usual. Thank you guys.

img_9904

Best buy was definitely the Funimation Trigun Badlands Rumble DVD set for S$10. TEN DOLLARS. Could not pass up a deal like that. Went home and rewatched the movie again, eheheheh d(00)b

I guess this is pretty much it for Singapore events in 2016. I know a few of my friends are going down to Kuala Lumpur this weekend for Comic Fiesta 2016 and Japan’s Winter Comiket is happening on the last week of the year, but I’ll just be spending Christmas and the New Year’s at home. Maybe not literally, but you get what I mean 🙂

Just 1 and a half more weeks to christmas, 2 more weeks to the new year! Low chance I’ll be able to return to blogging regularly until the middle of January, but I hope everyone enjoys the rest of 2016!

One thought on “Event: EOY 2016

  1. Pingback: Event: Doujima 2017 – Day 2 | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

