Anime Season Interests: Fall 2016

With the Fall 2016 season of anime just starting this week, I finally got a good look at the full list. Seems like I’m still keeping up with the times! \o/ Somewhat.

Ok, I admit. The only reason I remember when the next seasons of anime are airing is because I’m kept up to date by friends. I am eternally grateful to have friends with the same level of intensity as I take my hobbies d(oo)b

As always, I’m lagging behind on some I started from the previous season (Summer 2016), but managed to finish a few, like Berserk (Was there even a doubt on this?), Cheer Danshi, Binan Koukou Chikyuu Boeibu LOVE LOVE, Tsukiuta, Fudanshi Koukou no Seikatsu, Arslan Senki: Fuujin Ranbu and Honobono Log. Oh! That’s quite a number now that I’ve listed them out like that, woohoo!

But anyway, on to Fall 2016. Here are the television-airing-anime that have piqued my interest this season (in no specific order):

  1. Drifters 「ドリフターズ」 –> From the same mangaka as Hellsing. I’ve read a few volumes of Drifters a few years back but as usual, forgot to continue reading and now I can’t remember where I stopped. Was pretty excited for the anime though so I guess it’s high-time I catch up on the series and watch this as well \o/
  2. Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans 2nd Season「機動戦士ガンダム 鉄血のオルフェンズ 第2期」 Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron Blooded Orphans 2nd Season –> Finished Season 1 and damn was it good! Been anticipating the continuation ever since the last episode aired a few months back and there’s NO WAY I’m missing out on this!
  3. Yuri!!! on Ice「ユーリ!!! on ICE」–> It’s awesome how sports series have been gaining crazy popularity and there’s been so many different kinds of anime covering all sorts of sports nowadays. I’ve only watched one other series that included Ice Skating years ago even though I’m sure there are a few more out there. Don’t remember Ginban Kaleidoscope going into much detail on the sport so I hope Yuri!! on Ice covers some of those technical aspects. Not to mention, all the potential ‘gay’ that’s going to come from this.
  4. All Out!!「オールアウト!!」–> I’ve read a few chapters of this series and it seems like it starts off a pretty generic Shounen sport story, not that there’s anything wrong with that. Just like what I mentioned above, it’s pretty awesome to be able to see different sports finally in the limelight. Unlike a lot of other recent sports anime, Rugby’s comparatively more physical and rough in terms of play style and I’d definitely like to see how that is portrayed in All Out!!.
  5. Shuumatsu no Izetta「終末のイゼッタ」Izetta, The Last Witch –> A good friend recommended it and said I’d probably like it. Their judge on what I like is usually spot on so I’m gonna try it out 🙂
  6. Ao Oni The Animation「あおおに ~じ・あにめぇしょん~」–> Ao Oni is somewhat of an old joke that friends in my old school club used to throw at each other, so even though I’ve never played the game, I’ve seen play throughs and been unfortunately traumatised. This Ao Oni anime seems pretty ridiculous, but seeing that it’s only 3mins per episode, I wouldn’t mind trying it out for the fun of it just for fun. I hope I don’t regret this.
  7. Gakuen Handsome「学園ハンサム」–> Yes. I never played the game, but, definitely, YES. I am watching this.

Besides the ones mentioned above, I’ll be continuing on Jojo from last season. There are a few others I’m considering, like 3-gatsu no Lion and Watashi ga Motete Dousunda but I’d like to read those manga first. Plus, I still haven’t finished Ajin’s Season 1, so I can’t watch Ajin’s Season 2, haha.

Won’t be listing season movies or OVA that pique my interest anymore because adding those would easily be double every list and there’s a much lower chance I’d actually watch those anytime soon. I’ll do that in my own time and hopefully post about it when I do.

If you guys have any anime this season that you’d like to share your love of, please don’t hesitate to share. I’d totally consider watching it too! What series are you looking forward to this season?

One thought on “Anime Season Interests: Fall 2016

  1. Pingback: Anime Season Interests: Winter 2016-2017 | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

