Event: SportsFest 2016

Now that I’ve just finished playing Ace Attorney 6, I guess it’s time for me to catch up with all the Summer 2016 anime episodes I’ve put on hold for the past month and a half. Hopefully I’ll be able to put my thoughts into words and write a few posts for them ūüėÄ I’m actually looking forward to it!

Before that though, here’s my experience at Sports Festival 2016 last Saturday, 24 September, at the Yio Chu Kang Community Centre.

No, not an actual Sports Festival, but a¬†Sports Anime Fan Festival.¬†We’re still all weebs here ;D

img_6098

Unlike a¬†lot of other big conventions or pop-culture events in Singapore, Sports Festival is a small event organised by Sports Anime Fans for other fans.¬†This year’s SportsFest was the 2nd time it’s been held, but my first time actually attending. Unfortunately this¬†was also the last time the event was going to be held¬†due to various reasons that weren’t disclosed by the organisers.

Because it was such a small event with a more casual organising group, the atmosphere of the event was so much different to other bigger events/conventions and really refreshing. Everything just felt a lot more relaxed and chill in general. Not to mention how enthusiatic and supportive all the sports trash fans present were.

img_5943

As soon as we got to the event area, we paid for our entry and received a black Sports Battle point card and wristbands of either White Team or Red Team. As you can see from the photo above, I was on the White Team.

img_6088

The event was held just like a modified sports festival with the Red and White team battling it out for more points through stage games like running tic tac toe, passing hoops through a team of people and passing a piece of paper through sucking on a straw. Those were fun to watch XD (Especially when mayhem ensues like when two friends on different sides start pushing each other in the middle of the race.)

You could also help your team through periodic sports anime quizzes on various series such as Daiya no Ace, Prince of Stride, Kuroko no Basuke and Prince of Tennis. When stage games or quizzes weren’t happening, anime episodes or promotional videos were screened.

img_5949

Didn’t take many photos of cosplayers at all because I was… uh… too busy fooling around with my friends, haha oops. If you happen to know the name and/or page of other cosplayers in the photos below¬†that I didn‚Äôt mention the name of, please tell me. Also, please tell me if I got anyone‚Äôs name wrong.

 img_5990    img_6006

  Hyouriii and Jiko                                         Marcus Montague

    img_6010    img_6093

                                                                                            Xuan and Reikaan

I was really looking forward to cosplaying Cheer Danshi’s Hashimoto Kazuma for this event, but stuff happened and I couldn’t prepare a costume in time so I tried Haikyuu’s Sugawara Koushi instead. Was definitely worried on whether I could pull his character off, but everything turned out alright and I was happy for that.¬†

A few photos I got of the mix mash haikyuu friends I hung with throughout SportFest.

img_6177   img_6141

Kageyama Tobio (in right photo): Puffy

Best Setter badges by: Circus-Usagi

img_5946   img_6137

Left photo (Left to right not including me): Burntpie, Puffy, Kyokishi, Luseth.

Right photo (Left to right not including me): Burntpie, Serara, Hiki, Kyokishi, Puffy.

A photographer friend¬†helped us take a few shots¬†as well. Might¬†add a few here when she’s released them ūüôā

img_6012

In addition to the¬†stage programs, the event also had a few fan-artist and game booths around the hall. It was really cute how the game booths were themed towards 6 different sports anime: Free!, Yowamushi Pedal, Prince of Stride, Daiya no Ace, Haikyuu!! and Kuroko no Basuke. When you played those games, you could collect stamps and fill up your black Sports Battle point card, then collect a prize after completion. Near the end of the day though, the organisers just kind of handed out stamps and prizes to anyone who asked so you didn’t actually need to play the games.

Threw some money at the artist booths but didn’t play any games; I just picked up a completed point card that someone didn’t want and kept it, HAHA. Also, the¬†Red Team¬†won with more points in the end, but the organisers handed out Winning Team and Licensed Sports Trash cards to everyone anyway! Totally cheezy, but everyone definitely went home a winner with souvenirs ūüėÄ

img_6106

img_6109

I had lots of fun at SportFest hanging around with friends and could definitely feel the camaraderie in the air. It’s a shame this event won’t be happening again, but I’m glad I got the chance to go for it at least once.

Once a Sports Trash, always a Sports Trash I guess XD

2 thoughts on “Event: SportsFest 2016

  1. Pingback: Event: STGCC 2016 | Manga, my life.

  2. Pingback: Event: EOY 2016 | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

