Anime Season Interests: Summer 2016

I… might never blog fast enough to keep up with anime and still be able to churn out posts on manga, ahahahaha… oh well.

Hey, it’s the middle of July and I’m not sure where the past 6 and a half months went! But it’s currently the third week into the new anime season, Summer 2016, and I’ve already gone through 1-2 episodes of a few of them. Actually quite proud of myself for managing to finish a number anime I was interested in last season like, Mayoiga, Kabaneri no Kotetsujou, Joker Game, Hero Acad and Kagewani Shou. Even completed one more not on my original list as well: Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge. That was so cute. As for the rest… well… I made it more than halfway through Sakamoto desu ga? but um… that’s… pretty much it. HAHA.

To be honest, I had the impression that there were more series I wanted to watch this season, but now it doesn’t feel like there are as many as I had originally thought. Maybe I’m just getting used to keeping up with episodes every week. Or maybe… I’ve forgotten if there were others I wanted to watch. That’s… probably it. Time to check the airing list again.

Here are the television-airing-anime that have piqued my interest this season (in no specific order):

  1. ReLIFE 「リライフ–> I’ve read a little of the web manga, and it’s cute, but so far hasn’t caught much of my interest. A friend’s been pestering me to read it for a long time now so I’m hoping it might pick up if I continue reading. Will probably watch the anime after I read more. Also, FYI, all 13 episodes of this series were released at one shot and thus, it has finished airing.
  2. 91 Days –> I admit, I was totally taken in by the promotional poster of the 2 guys sitting across from each other with the guns. It just looked really cool, and the kind of story filled with violence, drama, and of course, the mafia.
  3. Handa-kun「はんだくん–> I never fully watched Barakamon, but it doesn’t seem like you need to have watched it to enjoy Handa-kun. Just reading the synopsis, this series sounds like it’s going to be hilarious and lots of fun XD
  4. D.Gray-man Hallow – It’s been 10 years since the D.Gray-man anime and this is full-on nostalgia.
  5. Danganronpa 3: The End of Kibougamine Gakuen – Mirai-hen 「ダンガンロンパ3 -The End of 希望ヶ峰学園- 未来編」Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak Academy – Future Volume –> The Danganronpa games are absolutely mind-blowing and I’d like to know the conclusion to this amazingly developed series.
  6. Danganronpa 3: The End of Kibougamine Gakuen – Zetsubo-hen 「ダンガンロンパ3 -The End of 希望ヶ峰学園- 絶望編」Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak Academy – Despair Volume –> It’s seriously so cool to have 2 different sides of the Danganronpa universe run side by side and I’m not missing out on either of them!
  7. Berserk 「ベルセルク」–> If you don’t know how much I love Berserk you should probably read my very first manga post on Manga, my life. XD
  8. Arslan Senki: Fuujin Ranbu 「アルスラーン戦記 風塵乱舞」The Heroic Legend of Arslan: Dust Storm Dance –> Finished the first season that aired last year and it was so goodBeen eagerly waiting for this 2nd season to watch more of Arslan’s journey.
  9. Days –> There’ve been so many sports series coming up lately, I feel like trying a little bit of them all, ahahaha. I honestly don’t have a special reason for wanting to try this other than the fact that it’s about Soccer.
  10. Amanchu 「あまんちゅ!」–> The PV I saw of Amanchu is so darn pretty and it’s about scuba diving?! Definitely wanna check this out.
  11. Battery「バッテリー」– I don’t really have a special reason to try this one too other than the fact that it’s on baseball XD
  12. Cheer Danshi!! 「チヤ男子!!」–> Cheerleading, possibly-slightly-gay guys? Hell yes!
  13. Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu「腐男子高校生活」The High School Life of a Fudanshi –> I love BL, and the main character does too, of course I’m going watch this. Also, I’ve read a few chapters of this manga and it’s pretty darn funny.
  14. Honobono Log「ほのぼのログ」–> There are only 8 episodes to this series and each episode of is only 2 mins long. It sounds cute, so why not?
  15. Binan Koukou Chikyuu Boeibu LOVE! LOVE!「美男高校地球防衛部 LOVE! LOVE!」Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! LOVE! –> Watched the first season as it aired last year and I seriously loved how ridiculous it was. I’m excited for more ridiculousness in the 2nd season \o/
  16. Bananya「ばなにゃ」–> Ok, I wasn’t interested in this but I admit it looked really cute. Then a friend convinced me to try the first episode with her and now she just tells me when a new episode is out and I just… watch it anyway.

Besides the ones above, there are a few that I’m familiar with, like Mob Psycho 100 and Orange, but I’d like to read the manga before trying to watch the anime. Also, the 2nd season of Active Raid looks cool, so I should probably try the first season out first.

OKAY… UH… WELL… Listing them out like this is pretty scary… ahahaha… And I didn’t even go into OVAs, Specials and Movies for Summer 2016! (Maybe I’ll update this post again with those another time soon). There’s no doubt I’ll be dropping a few in the list within the next few weeks, but these are the TV airing series I’m interested in that are just starting. I have yet to finish Voltron and just collected a game I’ve been looking forward to playing so will probably be busy for awhile on those alongside Summer 2016’s anime 🙂

If you guys have any anime this season that you’d like to share your love of, please don’t hesitate to tell me. I’d totally consider watching it too! What series are you looking forward to this season?

6 thoughts on “Anime Season Interests: Summer 2016

  1. My god, Nic. That’s a scary list. The only one I’m kinda interested in watching is probably Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu cause it’s really funny lol. (I also read the manga to the latest chapter translated www)

    I like ReLife, but I’m not sure about watching an anime of it. It’s pretty slow-paced so I’m not sure if it would be a bit slow and boring. But haha it does give off a fuwa fuwa feeling most of the time. Like it’s dark but happy.

    Like

    • Also… no one can ever blog fast enough to keep track of all the manga they read. Have you even seen my ridiculous backlog. (I started keeping a notepad for the series I read/is following/somehow read a bit and made an impression on me…. it’s growing too fast and that’s not even including the chinese webcomics I read and BL stuff OTL)

      Like

      • I know right. I didn’t expect to have so many I wanted to (try and) keep up with this anime season OTL And now that ZTD is out, I think I might end up falling behind on anime, HAHA.

        Tried keeping notes on all the posts I wanted to write too but the notes got too long and I started having multiple notes and backlog’s still disastrous. Oh well XD All the best to the both of us, hahahaha.

        Like

  2. Pingback: First Impressions (Anime): Berserk (2016) | Manga, my life.

  3. Pingback: Event: SportsFest 2016 | Manga, my life.

  4. Pingback: Anime Season Interests: Fall 2016 | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

