First Impressions (Animated series) : Voltron: Legendary Defender

First non-anime/manga First Impressions, woop!

My Twitter timeline’s been full of Voltron fanart and people talking about this animated series for a few weeks now. Seeing so many people falling into the fandom hell at once definitely piqued my interest.

Animated TV series: Voltron: Legendary Defender

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 3.29.14 PM

Voltron: Legendary Defender is a 13-episode reboot of the 1984 Voltron series. The animated television series premiered on Netflix on June 10 2016, just about a month ago. It’s produced by DreamWorks Animation Television and World Events Productions and animated by Studio Mir (The Legend of Korra etc.).

I didn’t actually know what to expect (besides giant robot) when I googled Voltron for the first time. Even halfway through the series now, I still have trouble describing Voltron in a way that sounds enticing.

Friend: “So what’s Voltron about? Like, what’s the story?”

Me: “Uh, it’s about… 5 robot lions that combine to form a giant robot to protect the Universe.”

That’s it. That’s the story.

Well, most of it anyway.

Here’s a longer, hopefully better, introduction:

The Evil Galra Empire, headed by Emperor Zarkon, has been conquering planets and destroying inhabitants for millennia. The only known threat that stands in its way is Voltron, “Defender of the Universe”: A 100 meter tall robot warrior composed of 5 lion mechas whose pilots are known as Paladins. Voltron: Legendary Defender follows the story of 5 Earthlings as they’re swept up into the Galran War and become the next generation of Paladins to combat Emperor Zarkon’s nefarious schemes.

WARNING: Nothing really. Violence, war, destroying things… all the regular stuff in an animated series like this.

I’ve been putting off continuing on Voltron until I finish writing this post and it’s been pretty hard to keep myself in check. I keep thinking about watching it instead of writing this, hahaha.

I’m thoroughly enjoying myself with Voltron so far! Watching it is a little reminiscence of all those ‘heroes of the universe’ cartoons I glued myself to on the weekends so many years ago. I’m sure I’m not the only one who thinks this XD Who am I kidding, I still glue myself to the TV for cartoons almost everyday.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 3.35.18 PM

The 5 robot lions

Voltron is, admittedly, very cheesy and a tad cliche. It’s a remake of a hero robot series that aired a long time ago and there’s no escaping that with its overarching ‘good triumphs evil’ theme. It’s predictable and nothing special at all in terms of plot. But this works both ways. I’d be lying if I said the ‘classic getting remake’ factor didn’t motivate me to start the series. Old stuff getting reboots and remakes are always interesting, at least to me šŸ™‚

What caught my attention the most though, was its lively cast of characters and interesting script. Voltron’s characters aren’t that unique or anything hugely special, but they’re relatable. They’re also lots of fun, comical, and extremely likable. I want to root for these characters XD Too bad it’s only the ‘good’ guys that are interesting. So far, none of the ‘bad’ guys are.

According to Wikipedia, the animation for Voltron: Legendary Defenders is described as ‘a mix of anime influence for characters and background and CGI for Voltron action sequences.’ It’s really cool and I love the animation. It’s even funnier to see the contrast between how cool the mechas are and the characters’ expressions XD

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 3.30.07 PM Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 3.32.02 PM

The Defenders of the Universe, everyone.

First episode into Voltron: Legendary Defender and I could already understand where all the jokes on the series are coming from XD It’s friggin fun and I seriously cannot wait to get back to it \o/ I haven’t even watched til the end and I already want a second season.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions (Animated series) : Voltron: Legendary Defender

  1. Pingback: Anime Season Interests: Winter 2016-2017 | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

