Live: Kyary Pamyu Pamyu

[Backpost! This is 6 months late, ehehe.]

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu held one of her KPP 5iVE YEARS MONSTER WORLD TOUR 2016 concerts in Singapore on 13 May 2016 at the Esplanade.

img_9890

This concert was something my friends and I were looking forward to since it was announced sometime last year. I wasn’t that into KPP when she first came to Singapore a few years back, but she’s such a cute artist and it was only the year before last that I started listening to and loving more of her music XD

If you’re not familiar with the weird-cute and catchy that is Kyary Pamyu Pamyu‘s music and fashion sense, you should really check her out. Also, consider checking out the producer behind her music, Nakata Yasukata, as well XD

Here’s her very first single that got lots of attention—If you watch, you’ll find out why—when it was released in 2011: PONPONPON.

 

It was a bit of a surprise to find out that it was going to be held at the Esplanade, considering the venue isn’t known for many rock/pop/edm entertainment and more for classical work, but Kyary’s concert was organised as part of Esplanade’s Super Japan – Japanese Festival of the Arts. I admit to being just a little skeptical on the venue.

My fears were totally unfounded, the Esplanade was probably the most comfortable venue I’ve been to for a pop/edm live d(oo)b

1. Everyone was assigned to specific seats — in other words, you could sit down if you were tired and there was no pushing/shoving etc.

2. There was a surprising amount of space to get up and jump/dance in front of the seat (It flips up when no one is seated). So there was space for bags at the side or under the seats.

3. Because of the layout of the concert hall, unless you were a lot shorter than the person in front of you (a little sad for kids and much shorter people, but it was alright for me and i’m pretty short), you could get a relatively good view of the stage no matter where you are in the hall.

img_9879

Her tracklist that night included (Not in order)

  • 5iVE YEARS MONSTER
  • Onedari 44°c
  • PONPONPON (Extended ver.)
  • Fashion Monster
  • Ninjari Bang Bang
  • Crazy Party Night ~Pumpkin no Gyakushuu
  • Invader Invader
  • Kimi ni 100%
  • Candy Candy
  • Sai & Kou
  • Otona no Kodomo
  • Mondai Girl
  • Cherry Bonbon
  • Saigo no Ice Cream
  • Kura Kura
  • Super Scooter Happy
  • Mottai Night Land
  • Kimi ni 100% (encore)
  • Tsukema Tsukeru (encore)

That’s… probably all of them? I don’t think we missed anything. (I only remembered a few, but one of my friends saved me, hahahaha.) Too bad she didn’t play my favourite song, ゆめのはじまりんりん (Yume no Hajima Ring Ring), but I totally understand how it’s not the best song for a concert.

Her backup dancers were super awesome as usual. The Tempura Kidz have so much stamina, it’s crazy! Their performance that night alongside Kyary was so energetic and sharp, I ended up spending a good time of the concert watching them dance instead of the star singer XD

There were lots of Japanese concert-goers and so many families at Kyary’s live. It was really cute to see all the parents and the kids dancing and singing along as well.

Everyone got an free A4 folder to take home 8D I also got a KPP 5iVE YEARS MONSTER WORLD TOUR T-shirt \o/

img_9912

Now every time one of Kyary’s songs shuffles on, I’m reminded of my experience at her concert ❤ Aaaahhhh, she’s so cute! o(>///<)o

Beyond glad more Japanese artists have started visiting/are being invited to Singapore for lives, woohoo!

Leave a comment