First Impressions (Anime): Sakamoto desu ga?

So… I thought whatever I had listed down in my Spring 2016 Anime Interests was all I was gonna be watching this season. As of the end of April, I’ve watched a few more anime from this season’s airing-list… which brings the total number of series I’m watching this season up to 11 (probably?)…  And I haven’t even started on Mayoiga yet! Will definitely be dropping a number of them, but this is the first time I’ve tried so many in a season!

And I thought Summer 2016’s list was gonna be the killer. I can barely remember what number episodes I’m on every week! Can’t write all the ‘First Impressions’ fast enough…

Anime: Sakamoto desu ga? 「坂本ですが?」 Haven’t you heard? I’m Sakamoto

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 4.27.15 PM

I had wanted to start reading the manga before starting on this anime, but at the time my friends were chatting about it online, my sis was right behind me in front of the TV. I jumped at the chance to play something she might enjoy in the hopes of getting her more open to watching anime. Needless to say, there’s one more person charmed by Sakamoto XD

WARNING: It’s classified as  a Seinen so be warned on adult-ish humor and crude jokes. Telling you to brace yourself for the ridiculousness might not prepare you enough for Sakamoto. I’m not even sure how to start describing this…

Watching Sakamoto desu ga is the kind of stupor-inducing series where you’d probably need something to catch all the ‘brain leaking out of your ear’. It’s so hilariously stupid and over the top you find yourself glued to the absurdity of the whole thing. I’m not even sure if Sakamoto desu ga can be considered a ‘slapstick comedy’ according to dictionary definitions, after all, Sakamoto himself isn’t deliberately clumsy nor is he humorously embarrassing — He’s not just ‘cool’, he’s the ‘COOLEST’!

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 4.26.38 PM

“He’s not that good-looking, what…

– My sister’s words at the beginning of the first episode.

Perfect characters are boring. I could never get drawn to a character with little to no development, an uninteresting personality or a lack of struggle in their life. I’m sure that’s pretty much the same for all of us. But then there’s Sakamoto, who is so absurdly perfect it’s a joke . Everything about him, and the characters around him, are a JOKE. That’s it. That’s the show.

Sakamoto desu ga doesn’t have great animation, it’s clean and pretty enough to bring out all it needs to for the anime. It’s told in an episodic format, so an episode of about 20mins is split into 2-3 parts for each story. The anime also has an interesting cast of seiyuu for its characters, with Midorikawa Hikaru (YuGiOh!’s Seto Kaiba, Slam Dunk’s Rukawa) as the titular Sakamoto, Ishida Akira (Gintama’s Katsura ‘Zura’ Koutarou and Sugita Tomokazu (Gintama’s Sakata Gintoki). The opening and endings are catchy songs too. I especially like the opening,「COOLEST」by カストマイZ (CustomiZ).

“Oh my god, I love this show.”

– My sister’s words at the end of the first episode.

If you’re not into plain nonsensical comedy, I wouldn’t suggest you trying Sakamoto desu ga. But if you’re open to trying it, even just a little, don’t stop at one episode. It just gets worse better.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions (Anime): Sakamoto desu ga?

  1. This series is getting some wildly different reviews. I’m looking forward to being able to watch some of it, though I already suspect I may need to watch it in small doses.

    Like

    • Hahaha, probaby. It’s the kind of anime that you can turn off your brain for I guess. Also, I’m not sure what your cup of tea is, but whatever I wrote is just my own opinion (I’m not that picky XD) and I still think it best to try stuff out for yourself to get how the series is 🙂 Tell me whatcha think when ya do, maybe?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I got thrown off track because of the second episode’s delay, but I will catch up. Also just got the next volume of the manga in the mail. So sad it’s ending soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

