First Impressions (Anime): Ace Attorney

Part of me still can’t believe how far the Gyakuten Saiban / Ace Attorney series has come.

Anime: Gyakuten Saiban Sono “Shinjitsu”, Igi Ari! 「逆転裁判 その『真実』、異議あり!」Ace Attorney ⇒ Spring 2016

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 6.43.43 PM

I love this game series. They are my favourite games to date and I’m pretty sure nothing will top Ace Attorney on that list.

WARNING: Uh… I was going to say “nothing at all” until I remembered that this story is technically all based on court cases for murder, so… Murder, violence and blood. Also, spirit channelling. But there really is nothing to be wary of.

To be totally frank though, I didn’t expect much from the Ace Attorney anime. I mean, of course I was excited about the anime adaptation—along with all the other Ace Attorney fans out there—but this is the kind of story that shines brightest as a game where you’re fully immersed playing as the protagonist at that period of time. There’ve been so many manga adaptations and even a live-action movie, but none of them bring out the essence and pull that dragged me into this fandom in the first place.

On that note, the Ace Attorney anime is much like what I thought of the 2012 live-action film as well: A treat for old fans, but nothing much for new viewers.

There’re little things that fans pick up and appreciate like the soundtracks, sound effects, certain character quirks, exact dialogue from the game and new animated content (like seeing the protagonist cycle to work among other things,) but it honestly wouldn’t be something I’d recommend to most anime-viewers who don’t play the games. I guess I just feel like Ace Attorney doesn’t translate as well on other platforms.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 6.44.45 PM

But hey, if you play the games and know everything, or if you don’t play but are interested to find out about the whole “OBJECTION” meme, go ahead. It really is a treat for fans to be able to see little things portrayed through an actual anime episode compared to the usual game animation. Of course, there are a few parts that have been expanded on or cut short, so even if you know what happens, it’s a little like an alternate telling. Because of that though, some parts I’m sure a lot of fans would have liked to see haven’t been portrayed in the anime either. I guess ‘you win some, you lose some’.

My motivation to faithfully continue watching the anime will probably stem solely from the fact that I want to see the game in a full animation (and be entertained by the characters for the umpteenth time). It’s so difficult to express just how much this series means to me—if I tried I’m not sure I’ll stop.

I’m really glad the Ace Attorney series has grown so much.

One thought on “First Impressions (Anime): Ace Attorney

Leave a Reply

