First Impressions (Anime): Joker Game

The 2nd episode of Joker Game aired yesterday but I haven’t watch it yet, so I’m posting this just based on episode 1.

Besides the few series that I already knew were airing this season and read the manga/played the game previously, this is something I was looking forward to for another reason entirely.

Anime: Joker Game 「ジョーカーゲーム」⇒ Spring 2016

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 11.43.39 PM

I didn’t know this until I heard from a friend and did more research, but Joker Game is based on a japanese novel series by Yanagi Koji. It was also adapted into a live-action movie at the beginning of 2015. I don’t know how much of the novel both adaptations are based off, but from what I’ve heard from those who’ve watched the live-action, the anime has a few parts which are similar, but is pretty different overall, with new characters and a different story.

WARNING: Violence. Questionably skewed morals and values. It’s the kind of story that provides extremely direct point of views. If you’re open-minded enough to enjoy some psychologically challenging themes and consider alternate thinking, this anime is good. It makes you read between the lines as with many other Seinen stories. Heads up that Joker Game is dialogue heavy though. At least the first episode is.

I… have to admit… The number one reason I had to start on Joker Game was: “DAMN, those are some good-looking characters, IN SUITS.”

No, seriously. There are so many really hot good-looking guy characters out there, but in suits?! I REALLY LOVE GOOD-LOOKING GUY CHARACTERS IN SUITS. The first words out of a friend who I introduced the episode to was, “Why, hello there.” as her eyebrows shot up. I burst out laughing at that. Another guy friend who watched it too looked at me with a, “I’m straight, but daaamn.

The second and third reason weren’t as impactful but served to cement my motivation to watch Joker Game further: “Spy?! THEY’RE SPIES?!“, and “Yes! It’s a Seinen?! YES!” That was me, sold.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 12.22.50 AM

I guess for the amount of background information and introduction to be covered in the first episode, the multitude of dialogue and narration is necessary. In my opinion, the script and the way certain scenes were portrayed were interesting and definitely kept my attention throughout, but I’d totally understand how someone’s attention might waver in between. No worries though, the tension skyrockets. I wasn’t the only one who cursed when the episode ended, hahaha. It seems like there’s going to be many layers to this anime, but with genres like Seinen, mystery and it being about spies, I wouldn’t expect any less.

Hearing more about the live-action movie from friends makes me want to check it out. Maybe I’ll do that sometime soon, but for now I’ll go ahead and watch Episode 2 of Joker Game.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions (Anime): Joker Game

  1. Tell me how episode 2 goes! xD I saw it was there when I was watching ep 1 (or it was like the next day or something) but I was too scared to go watch it. why? I have no idea?! but i didn’t, I need some confirmation or comfort or something xD

    I agree that they lookin good in them suits >:) But I also can’t tell them apart…Orz

    Like

    • I totally agree with you on the ‘can’t tell them apart’. They all look pretty similar but I thought I might give it a few more episodes to get to know the characters a bit more. It wouldve been great if the character designs could be more differing though :/
      Episode 2 was really good! I’m trying not to spoil anything, but you really get a sense of the layers of mystery and thought put into the story, along with some character development, background information and revelations XD It all leads back to the concept of the Joker Game, which I still think is beyond cool.
      Watch it soon! XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • OK! I just couldn’t handle how ep 1 ended and I was like, how’s he going to get out of this predicament?! xD But you say it’s good so all’s fine :”)

        Like

Leave a Reply

