First Impressions (Anime): JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure (Part 4): Diamond is Unbreakable

Was originally thinking of doing this First Impressions post on JoJo Part 4’s anime last week, but I put it off until I watched the 2nd episode 3 nights ago. Now I’m glad I did.

Anime: JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure Part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable 「ジョジョの奇妙な冒険」 JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken ⇒ Spring 2016

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 11.28.02 PM

With a name like JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure, you would expect this anime (in the eyes of many non-fans) to be at least a little… bizzare. Sorry, I had to do it. Being weird is a charm of the whole series though. If you’re familir with JJBA, you’d know that the series is broken up into parts following different JoJos’ adventures. If you don’t know this already, well, it’s time you go find out XD

WARNING: Sometimes violent, sometimes crude. Definitely weird. But there really isn’t that much you need to be wary of. I mean, if you’ve already been desensitized by other Shōnen series, you’ll be fine.

Was totally beyond psyched for Part 4’s anime adaptation. Diamond is Unbreakble is, hands down, my favourite part in the series. I haven’t completed part 6 and what comes after, but I’m pretty sure my favourite part will stay the same. There’re just some things about Part 4 that appeal to me a lot.

I had the chance to watch the first episode with a few JoJo fans at a friend’s house. We CLAPPED and CHEERED at the introduction, SHOUTED at the TV, COMMENTED on how much we love it, WAVED, POINTED and SCREAMED at characters and PLAYBACKED for cameos. If anyone watching us didn’t know any better, they’d think they were looking at a bunch of soccer fans and not a group of slightly-crazy (just slightly) anime fans.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 11.30.51 PM

Compared to the previous JoJo anime parts, Diamond is Unbreakable seems like the quirky younger brother. The anime style is much brighter and more vibrant. I originally had slight misgivings over the designs of (a) certain character(s) when the pv was first broadcasted, but I’m so glad they all look awesome.

Considering the story is set in the 1990s, I was really impressed with how the anime incorporated some of the distinctly classic vibe on top of what was already portrayed through the story, like the introduction with a radio station broadcasting. Even the opening and endings (which you always only get to see from the 2nd episode onwards of JoJo anime) are retro — The opening theme is totally like a 1990s japanese pop song while the ending theme is Savage Garden’s I Want You. Because the series is so influenced by Western music in general, the ending themes for all the seasons are old western songs. I lost my shit after realising I actualy recognised what was playing. That was some nostalgia-wake-up-call XD

Ah, okay, I’ve started rambling and should probably stop now. JoJo’s Part 4 is my jam and often times I get too worked up about it, ahaha… I don’t watch anime as much as read manga, but you can be sure this is one of the few series I’m definitely keeping up with this season.

Leave a Reply

