Be happy with yourself and your hobbies

As you’ve probably realised by now, I’m not smart or hardworking enough to write full-on analysis and reviews like a lot of other Otaku bloggers (I have so much respect for all you guys, man.) so I take the easy way out and write about flaky things like my feelings instead, hahaha… Wait, it just hit me that that’s…pretty much my last post summed up in a single sentence. Dammit…

Okay, well… This is something that happened awhile back that I shared on Facebook. I think it’s pretty relevant to a lot of you reading this who are in the same-sinking-boat as me in the vast ocean of life (Whoa, poetic \o/), so I’m sharing it here too. I realised something important about my hobby and this experience definitely made me think a little deeper.

—–

During a company lunch more than 2 weeks ago, a few colleagues were talking about the kind of shows they watched and a lot of American/British dramas came up. And then someone turned to me:

Colleague 1: “What kind of shows do you watch?”

Me: /shrug “Oh, I usually just watch cartoons.”

Colleague 1: /Disbelieving laugh “Huh?!”

Colleague 2: /to colleague 1 “Japanese cartoons! Cartoons for adults!”

I didn’t give a proper answer after that, but the first thought that came to my mind was, “But I watch children’s cartoons too.”

And then it struck me. I’ve been thinking about “Cartoons” wrong. And so have a lot of other people.

Cartoons are defined as “a film using animation techniques to photograph a sequence of drawings rather than real people or objects.”. The word itself doesn’t define its target audience. The content does. But it seems like it’s automatically been shelved into the “Kids genre” in many people’s mind-library. What about Disney animated movies? What about Family Guy? I’m a little ashamed to say I’ve never considered this before either.

I’d like to think I’m not ashamed of my hobbies. Unfortunately, the world doesn’t work the way that’s nice and there are too many people who aren’t as nonchalant about these things. That day I was reminded that liking—no, LOVING cartoons probably makes me seem childish in the eyes of lots of people, but that’s okay.

We WILL be judged, that’s a given, but as long as we’re happy with who we are, I think we’ll be alright 🙂

TLDR: I reflected and remembered to be happy with myself and my hobbies.

Leave a Reply

