First Impressions (Anime): Kagewani: Shou

I want to gush about the first season of this anime, but I don’t have the time or effort to do that now, so I’m settling for a First Impressions extreme fan post of the second season instead… while trying not to give anything away.

You can also check out my First Impressions on the first season.

Anime: Kagewani: Shou 「影鰐-KAGEWANI-承」⇒ Spring 2016

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 8.49.31 PM

Just like the first season, each episode will be keeping to the duration of less than 8 mins per episode.

To sum it up very succinctly, Kagewani is a series about monsters who attack people in the present day. Through the course of the series you find out the mystery behind these monsters and why Professor Sousuke Banba is so interested in them. Kagewani: Shou, is the continuation of that story.

WARNING: Supernatural horror, suspense and a thriller. You might want to consider watching it with someone beside you if you’re bad with horror. No no, don’t give this series a miss please, just watch it with someone beside you if you really need it XD

After finishing the first season, I am proud to say I have (somewhat) gotten over the (very) slight fear-barrier I had when I first started watching Kagewani. Of course I’m still scared, but not so much so that I need to pause and calm myself down. This coward chicken has evolved! \o/

To be honest though, I’m probably too excited for every episode to be so on edge from fear anymore. Kagewani isn’t that scary. I’m just really bad at taking stuff like this. 

Kagewani: Shou seems to be starting out slow, just like the beginning of the first season. I’m not sure if it was just because I’m used to it by now, but this first episode didn’t have as much impact as season 1’s first episode. Or… it could be because the first season ended off on such a mysterious note, that I’m totally itching for a progress in the storyline, and thus, don’t find it as impactful. Unfortunately, because it’s the first episode, we’re just reintroduced to those monsters and given a very tiny, almost nonexistant, glimpse of that progress. I WANT TO KNOW WHAT’S NEXT—

I mean, ahem, I hope it picks up fast.

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 8.51.23 PM

Kagewani gives off such an ambiguous story atmosphere, it’s so hard to predict what’s going to happen next. I thoroughly enjoyed the first season and have lots of high hopes for Shou.

Leave a Reply

