9th Manga Taishou Award Nominations (2016)

Late post, but last week the 9th Manga Taishou Awards nominated 11 titles for this year’s award.

The Manga Taishouマンガ大賞is an annual Japanese manga award limited to series with 8 or less volumes, in order to promote newer titles. The nominating committee is mostly made up of staff from bookstores in charge of their respective store’s manga. They each initially vote for 5 series and the top 10 titles (this year there’re 11) with the most number of votes become the official nominees of the year. The second round of voting then decides the winner, second, and third place.

Tip: I’ve mentioned this before, but if you’re ever looking for new manga to read, check out the Manga Taishou Award Nominees every year. It’s one of THE BEST ways to find really great series that are still budding.

Here’re the 11 titles that have been nominated for 2016:

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 10.27.02 PM

Check out AnimeNewsNetwork for information on the titles in English.

I’m seriously so darn happy for Golden Kamui getting nominated. It’s been one of my most anticipated reads since starting it awhile ago. Also really happy that Blue Giant  made it in too; Been wanting to try that since I saw it on the shelves and I’m glad it’s probably as good as I thought it might be. Too bad my Japanese isn’t good enough yet, so it might be awhile before I can.

It also looks like ANOTHER one of Higashimura Akiko-sensei’s works made it into this year’s nominations as well. One of her other works, Kakukaku Shikajika, won last year’s award. Oh man, Higashimura-sensei’s amazing.

I’m looking forward to trying the rest of the titles that made it into this year’s Top 11 sometime. Boku Dake ga Inai Machi‘s currently on hold while I’m on Jojo Part 06: Stone Ocean, though I’ve been a little tired lately and haven’t had much motivation to read manga, or blog, apparently. Didn’t even realise the last time I posted something was almost 2 weeks ago. Watching the 2015 Lupin III‘s been no problem though, ahaha. I’m… going to go back to that now XD

5 thoughts on “9th Manga Taishou Award Nominations (2016)

  1. Pingback: Manga Taisho 2016 winner: Golden Kamuy | Manga, my life.

  2. Pingback: 21st Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize nominations (2017) | Manga, my life.

  3. Pingback: First Impressions (Manga): Dungeon Meshi | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

