First Impressions: Enen no Shouboutai

*I’ll be tagging my following posts with NaBloPoMo 2 because even though I didn’t manage to finish it within the specified month of Nov 2015, I’d still like to complete the 30 blog posts meant for it.

I’ve gotten one-leg out of the BL and Yaoi binge recently and started reading quite a number of new (non-BL/Yaoi) series that I wanna share about \o/ Look forward to more First Impression posts coming up.

Here’s what I just started but put down for a blog post on it XD

Manga: Enen no Shouboutai 「炎炎ノ消防隊」 Fire Brigade of Flames

1 (1)

Weekly Shounen Magazine issue 43 Oct 7 2015

Enen no Shouboutai is a Shounen, action, comedy, ecchi, school-life, supernatural drama by Ohkubo Atsushi, most well-known for his previous work, Soul Eater. It’s a really new serialisation (started Sept 2015) in Weekly Shonen Magazine and I’ve only read two chapters so far.

“An unexplainable phenomenon of people bursting into flames assails humanity.”

Enen no Shouboutai is described as a “Sci-fi firefighting battle”, which is basically accurate. The story revolves around protagonist Kusakabe Shinra who has joined the 8th Special Fire Brigade. Their mission is to save humanity from the horror of the flames, the “Human Combustion Phenomenon”.

WARNING: LOTS OF FIRE. Please don’t consider reading this with Pyrophobia. Also burnt corpses, killing and violence. But it’s a Shounen, so a certain amount of action and violence is expected.

Actually only found out about this series when I saw some merchandise of it on Twitter, and only decided to search for it because the art looked pretty darn cool. I didn’t know Ohkubo-sensei had started working on a new series, haha. I haven’t even finished Soul Eater, oops.

Enen no Shouboutai had a really straightforward beginning that introduced the setting and basic plot extremely fast. I regret to admit that I had jumped to conclusions regarding the protagonist too soon and didn’t like him much at first, but after the first two chapters, I can confidently say… he’s really cute and I like him a lot. Ahahahahahaha OTL

Chapter_0

Chapter 0 cover

It’s not that unique in regards to a ‘Shounen’ plot; There’re the common aspects of a determined protagonist with a specific goal in mind and a special talent/power along with comrades fighting with them, but what caught my interest was the idea of ‘firefighting’ in the story. I think it’s pretty cool when certain aspects of anything common is pushed to be something different or more. I guess another example of this would be like the idea for Tegami Bachi, which is on mail men (I loved that, but I’ll finish it before blogging about it).

Favourite aspect of Ohkubo-sensei’s art: The crazy-detailed and very interesting cityscape designs. They’re so cool! Soul Eater’s cityscapes were amazing! But I think I like Enen’s more XD

I’m looking forward to finding out more about the mystery of the “Human Combustion Phenomenon” and which way the story is going to go now that the basic plot has been set up. I haven’t met one more character in the image above yet though, so I guess that comes up next.

Going back to it now 🙂

Leave a Reply

