Manga: Himitsu Sentai Momoider

There was a period of time about a year ago when I was reminiscising on Great Teacher Onizuka and considered reading as many of Fujisawa-sensei’s works as possible. Unfortunately, I randomly decided to start on this… which effectively killed my manga-binge motivation.

Manga: Himitsu Sentai Momoidaer 「ひみつ戦隊モモイダー」Secret Combat Troops Momoider

p006

Volume cover

Himitsu Sentai Momoider is a Seinen, comedy series by Fujisawa Tooru. It was serialised in Weekly Young Jump in 2007 and is complete with 14 chapters compiled into 1 tankobon volume.

Momo Sakura, 22, lives alone in Tokyo. Her profession: she is the Pink Momoider and is part of the Secret Combat Troops Momoider, a group of super sentai heroines! Unfortunately, the little girl is clumsy and her transformations often results in real fiascos… [Description taken from Baka-Manga Updates]

WARNING: Immensely stupid jokes. Almost didn’t finish it even though it was so short. 

When I first saw the cover for Himitsu Sentai Momoida, it looked fun — the super sentai cover caught my attention. It sounded like an amusing read too. Unfortunately… it really wasn’t my thing at all.

It was amusing, yeah, but it was also full of nonsense and the jokes immensely stupid. Comedy is fun, but as you might already know, I’m not that huge a comedy fan. I’ve always prefered wit, sarcasm and amusing situations from interesting characters as compared to brainless humor. Himitsu Sentai Momoida… isn’t much else but brainless humor. Fujisawa-sensei’s type of humor relies a lot on outright silly characters which is funny to a certain extent, but I feel like without a well developed story (such as GTO) and the interest it generates, my brain automatically shuts off.

Originally wanted to drop the series halfway because I couldn’t take much more, but since it was such a short series anyway, I persevered and sped through the remaining chapters. There were a few chapters after the halfway point where the story (whatever there was of it) got a little more promising, but… it just turned out more of a disappointment than I first thought.

c004

 The best part about Fujisawa-sensei’s art, at least to me, are the character expressions. They’re always so amusing.With so many years of manga under his belt already, Himitsu Sentai Momoida was clean from the beginning. His style is always distinct and recognisable, but sometimes I have trouble differentiating his characters because they all have similar faces, girls especially. It probably has something to do with the similar hairstyles too I guess (the long-haired ones throw me off the most).

I usually try very hard to write with positive vibes, but this might be the most negative post I’ve written thus far. I really don’t think I can recommend this short series to anyone unless the person is planning to go through every single one of Fujisawa-sensei’s works. Even if that were the case, Himitsu Sentai Momoida is something that can be skipped. Maybe I’ll try to go through all of Fujisawa-sensei’s works someday (There’re a lot of them, wow.); I guess this is just an unfortunate choice of a starting line.

One thought on “Manga: Himitsu Sentai Momoider

  1. Pingback: Manga: Loved Circus | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

