First Impressions (Anime): Osomatsu-san

One week through NaBloPoMo! 3 more to go. I keep saying I should stop being late, but it continues to happen anyway OTL

Because this is an anime that’s currently airing, I won’t be adding a synopsis. If the First Inpressions series are more well-known, I won’t be adding those in. It’s not like Osomatsu-san needs much of a synopsis anyway, maybe just a short intro. I’ve only watched the first 3 episodes of this anime so far so these are just my thoughts on them.

Anime: Osomatsu-san 「おそ松さん」⇒ Fall 2015

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 9.10.42 PM

Osomatsu-kun is a gag manga series from the 1960s and was adapted into an anime in 1966. A colour remake of the 1960s anime aired in 1988, with a bigger focus on its side characters. Osomatsu-san (produced by Pierrot) celebrates the 80th birthday of creator Akatsuka Fujio (who passed away at the age of 72 in 2008) and follows the Matsuo siblings as adults.

I confess, I didn’t consider watching Osomatsu-san when I first saw it on the current season list so it wasn’t in my Fall 2015 Anime Interests. I enjoy a good gag series, but they aren’t usually something I’d keep a lookout for (or follow) unless strongly recommended and talked about. That’s… pretty much why I tried it out. A small clip of the first episode had been shared on Facebook and people were screaming about Osomatsu-san.

Watching that small clip on Facebook did nothing to prepare me for what the hell happened in the first episode of Osomatsu-san.

I… It’s… It’s so random. So randomly stupid. It’s so randomly stupid but enjoyable. I can’t even put the brain-numbing hilarity into words.

My littlest sister doesn’t watch anime besides the occasional times I’m watching something right next to her. She managed to catch the third episode and then I showed her the first episode after that.

Me: “Do you feel your brain trickling out your ear?”

Sis: *nods slowly with a very befuddled face.*

The whole first episode was basically a huge parody on so many popular series (props to you on recognising most, if not, all of them XD) and tropes. If I wasn’t laughing out loud, a grin was splitting my face enough for my cheeks to hurt. I’d recommend any anime fan to watch the first episode for the sheer stupidity, but only seasoned fans would actually get the full force of the parody and enjoy it. With how much effort was put in to starting the series off, a few friends and I were joking on how they probably blew a sizeable budget on that one episode alone.

I’m sure a lot of people dropped the anime after the first parody episode though. From Episode 2 onwards, the art and style of episode returns to something much closer to its original; No more of the ‘bishounen’ and ‘popular anime’ style. To be honest, I enjoyed the second episode of the series more than I did the first; I guess I just don’t appreciate parodies as much.

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 9.14.28 PM

I think I’ve finally recognised the sextuplets individually and remembered their order after 3 episodes. Of course, there was always the easier way to tell them apart by their voices, but my audio recognition is crap. I have a lot of trouble remembering seiyuu especially. Speaking about seiyuu, Osomatsu-san has a totally stellar cast of seiyuu that include Fukuyama Jun, Ono Daisuke, Kamiya Hiroshi, Sakurai, Nakamura Yuichi, Irino Miyu, Takahiro Sakurai (as the sextuplets) and a number of other well-known names.

Osomatsu-san is pretty darn funny, but sometimes it tries too hard and the gags drag on a little too much, at least for me. I like the sextuplet characters but it seems like I can only take so much nonsensical comedy. I guess I’ll try a little more before deciding whether or not to drop it.

Leave a Reply

