First Impressions (Anime): Young Black Jack

This was actually the first of the Fall 2015 anime that I started on but put off posting about until the I had time to watch the 2nd episode. This post covers my first impressions of the series from the first 2 episodes.

Anime: Young Black Jack 「ヤング ブラック・ジャック」 Fall 2015

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 9.15.52 PM

really like Black Jack. The series about the surgeon with the scars and two-toned skin and hair have always been my favourite work from Osamu Tezuka. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to read the Young Black Jack manga.

WARNING: Unless you’re very bad with hospitals or just the idea of surgeries and injuries etc. (and things along those lines), I don’t think there’s anything you need to be wary about.

A friend told me about Young Black Jack getting an anime a few months ago when the news came out, and then we spent awhile spazzing and laughing over how beautiful Young Black Jack looked from the promotional images. I personally thought he was a very cool and good-looking guy in the original series already, but this was a whole new level of bishounen.

From the first 2 episodes, it seems like Young Black Jack plays out similar to how the original Black Jack manga does: A genius surgeon tackling surgeries that are deemed impossible (but not for Hazama Kuro) or that other doctors just don’t do for a number of reasons. I thought episode one was a good introduction to that. Young Black Jack still brings up very controversial topics on morality concerning money, life, and death.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 9.17.18 PM

The anime is VERY dramatic. Of course, what else can you expect from a beautified version of a Young Black Jack XD I appreciated how a little bit of Tezuka’s style was kept in the design of its side-characters though. It was even cooler that the ending sequence for the anime showed the exact Tezuka character that each Young Black Jack character was modelled after. Really gotta tone down my inner Tezuka-fan here.

Screen Shot 2015-10-17 at 11.45.47 AM

It made me inexplicably happy that the script of Young Black Jack kept referencing to the kind of surgeon Hazama Kuro would eventually become. I also lost my shit after realising that the Narrator for the Young Black Jack series is basically the ‘older Hazama Kuro’ a.k.a. ‘older Black Jack’ speaking about ‘when he was younger’… and the seiyuu for the Narrator (Ootsuki Akio) is the actual seiyuu that voiced Black Jack in the original 1993-2011 OVAs and 2004-2006 anime! CUE ULTIMATE FAN-MOMENT.

Thoroughly enjoyed the first episode of the series. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for the second. It crammed way too much into 25 minutes of screen time; Jarring start, choppy pacing… There was more information on Black Jack’s past and the kind of person he is, as well as hints to his future (I liked that), but having that much information thrown in along with that conflict on the surgery felt a little too much for an anime episode — which would probably be a lot worse for someone unfamiliar with what Black Jack is originally about. I definitely understand why I haven’t read many good things from other aniblog reviewers on the second episode.

There’s no doubt I’ll be continuing this series until the end of its 12 episode-run (Clearly, I love Black Jack too much), but I hope the rest of its episodes turn out better.

Leave a Reply

