First Impressions (Anime): Kagewani

I know the second episodes of these next few First Impression animes have already aired and been subbed, but this is me still trying to catch up. Wait, no, let me rephrase that. I’ll probably forever be trying to catch up to trending anime, so this is me going at my own pace 🙂

Anime: Kagewani「影鰐-KAGEWANI-」 ⇒ Fall 2015

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 9.28.49 PM

I was intrigued by the description, “panic suspense animation” and it’s only 7-8mins per episode. Why not?

WARNING: This anime is categorised as ‘Mystery’ and ‘Supernatual’. It thrives on suspense. If you’re absolutely horrible at horror (even a little bit) and suspense, you might want to consider watching it with someone beside you.

I am a chicken.

No, seriously. I’m not fond of watching horror because I can’t take it well. Watching Kagewani by myself wasn’t the greatest idea. It’s definitely suspense alright. Actually had to pause multiple times during the really short episode because I needed a few seconds to calm myself down and not lose my shit. It wasn’t super scary or horrifying, but I get scared easily so… ahaha… look at this chicken…

Ignoring my lack of courage, I really enjoyed the tension and suspense throughout the episode. The use of camera angles and specifically tailored shots to invoke the sense of foreboding was great! The animation was different and interesting too, although I’m not sure a lot of people would be able to appreciate it. It felt like I was watching animated paper puppets in a dark-themed play. Movements are choppy and almost everything looks like it was painted with water colour, then given a grainy texture.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 9.32.17 PM

Banba-sensei

Overall, I  thought it was a pretty good 8 minutes. It’s not something I can recommend to just anyone considering the animation style and genre of story, but I’m going to continue this. One of my main reasons to continue is also because I thought Banba-sensei was cool and I’d like to hear more about who he is and the role he plays in this series.

Hopefully I’ll be able to steel my heart (and head) for the following episodes now that I know what I’m up against XD

What was your first impression of Kagewani?

EDIT: Also, I did not realise Banba-sensei’s seiyuu is Tomokazu Sugita OTL

2 thoughts on “First Impressions (Anime): Kagewani

  1. Pingback: First Impressions (Anime): Kagewani: Shou | Manga, my life.

  2. Pingback: Anime Season Interests: Spring 2017 | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

