Event: Card Games Asia 2015

This was a horrible week to try and make up for what I haven’t been doing the past half a year. A week long event at work and blogger’s block is a killer. I’m not naturally a good writer, but maybe if I let loose and stop thinking so much about what to write or how to phrase things, I’ll feel better about posting regularly again.

Starting off slow with my working experience at Card Games Asia 2 weekends ago.

IMG_6954

Card Games Asia 2015 was held on the 15th and 16th (Sat and Sun) of August at the Suntec Singapore Convention and Exhibition Centre. It was the first time ever this event was being held and is also one of the first of its kind, dedicated solely to promoting Card Gaming.

IMG_6987

By Card Gaming I don’t mean poker card gaming. I mean Collectible Card Games (CCG). Also known as Trading Card Games (TCG). Pokemon cards, Yu-Gi-Oh!, Duel Masters… these are definitely a few of the better known ones. I have to admit though, I don’t know much about any TCGs. The only ones I’ve tried playing before are YGO and Duel Masters, but in that one game I played of each, I spent 90% of the game time asking my opponent, “So… now what?”

Many of TCGs that were featured during CGA were of Japanese origin; Games like Cardfight!! Vanguard, Future Card Buddyfight, Weiß Schwarz and Chaos TCG under Bushiroad, WiXoss under Takara Tomy, plus Dreadnought and Ange Vierge under Kadokawa. Then there was Magic: The Gathering and Hearthstone as well as a number of other games I don’t remember the title of. There were booths, competitions, game trials, freebies and learn to play areas… lots of stuff going on. Plus, the goodie bag per ticket was actually pretty darn good. I was honestly surprised a ticket each day was only $2 considering the things you could get and experience there.

IMG_7286

Working for a friend’s company as one of the hired help just for the event, my job on both days was as an emcee. Or, in more accurate terms, the PA person.

“GOOD MORNING, LOSERS LIKE ME. WE HOPE YOU HAVE A GOOD DAY.”

Competition registration open? “WHO WANTS TO SIGN UP, GO THERE.”

Competition starting? “OI PLAYERS, GET YO ASS OVER HERE.”

Player still not at competition area? “EXCUSE ME PLAYER NUMBER BLAH, SETO KAIBA, EVERYONE IS WAITING FOR YO ASS TO GIT HERE.”

“SOMEONE LOST THEIR BLOODY WALLET.”

“ATTENTION. GOT SOMETHING GOING ON AT THE STAGE. GO SEE. IT NICE.”

“DON’T BE TRASH, CLEAN UP YOUR TRASH.”

Ah… you get the gist of it. All this was filtered before I spoke, of course.

When the friend first asked if I was okay with being the emcee I got a huge shock because I didn’t know crap about TCGs, plus I’m not great with public speaking in general. It was a little nerve-wrecking at the beginning, but warming up to it didn’t take too long. I’m really thankful I had someone else doing the announcements with me too, plus most of the staff there were either friends, or really friendly 🙂 It turned out alright. I’m happy to say I’ve grown a little just from this weekend job.

Even with a number of friends in the Japanese TCG circle, I’ll probably never get into card games. If I start spending on cards, I won’t have enough money for manga and other merchandise.

One thought on “Event: Card Games Asia 2015

  1. Pingback: Event: Cosfest 2016 | Manga, my life.

Leave a Reply

