First Impressions (manga): Beshari Gurashi

Starting slowly with something shorter.

Manga: Beshari Gurashi 「べしゃり暮らし」

1965612-besharigurashi01

I came across this series only because I saw a tweet about it from the Japanese pop culture news website, natalie. If you can somewhat read Japanese , natalie is a pretty great source for Japanese pop culture news. I’m barely able to read any myself, but can still make out basic information for some articles, HAHA.

Anyway, I saw an image of Beshari Gurashi on Twitter (not the one above) and immediately recognised the distinctive art style and facial expressions… WHOA, I WAS RIGHT. It’s by the mangaka of Rookies!

If you’ve read that post, you’d know that Rookies is (and probably will always be) my favourite sports manga of all time. With a bias like that, there’s no way I can resist looking up the rest of Morita-sensei’s works. I just don’t know why I never did it sooner!

This series started serialising in 2005 and is still currently ongoing, but so far, only 2 chapters have been scanlated and I don’t actually think much of it will be scanlated anytime soon. Or ever, maybe. Dammit! This post is — quite literally — the first, and maybe last, impressions I have of Beshari Gurashi, unless it continues to be scanlated or I get better at reading Japanese.

First thought after reading the first chapter (without reading the synopsis): IS THIS WHOLE MANGA ABOUT THE MAIN GUY BECOMING A COMEDIAN?

After finding out the series is ongoing with 18 volumes: HOLY SHIT! HOW DOES SOMEONE WRITE AN 18-AND-COUNTING VOLUME SERIES ON ASPIRING STAND UP COMEDIANS?!

I will never stop being surprised at the kind of stories people can, and continue, to tell through manga. Morita-sensei, you are amazing.

From the first 2 chapters I’ve read so far, he manages to encompass the stupidity, recklessness and inspiration present in a high-school-comedian living for the laughs from others. And after reading the synopsis, I find out that the story follows a comedy DUO. That’s even COOLER than I first thought! As I mentioned before (in the Rookies post), Morita-sensei’s art is somewhat realistic and isn’t pretty at all. It’s nice being able to see a polished style right from the start though, since this came after. My favourite part about the distinctive art is definitely the expressive faces of every character.

It seems like Beshari Gurashi is gonna play out like a slice-of-life, going-for-your-dreams series too. Man, I’d love to continue reading it sometime. Here’s one more reason for the ‘motivation to get better at Japanese’ list.

Leave a Reply

