Manga: Midori Days

Day 12 was another day that I had actually planned a specific series to write about. This year marks the 12th year manga has been an inseparable part of my life and I thought maybe I could cover the first one I started with.

The first manga I started with was One Piece. Unfortunately, I can say without a doubt that I currently do not have enough energy and feelings to write my thoughts and do this awe-inspiring series justice. One Piece means too much to too many people, including myself, and I can’t talk about something so important when I’m this tired.

Instead, here’s another series that takes me down memory lane.

Manga: Midori Days 「美鳥の日々」 a.k.a. Midori no Hibi 

Midori no Hibi vol 1 cover

Midori no Hibi vol 1 cover

Midori Days is a (somewhat supernatural/fantasy) Shounen, comedy, harem, romance series by Inoue Kazurou. It spans a total of 85 chapters serialised from September 2002 to Novemeber 2004 and was collected into 8 volumes.

Sawamura Seiji is the toughest seventeen-year-old in town, feared for his fighting prowess and deadly “devil’s right hand”. But at heart, Seiji is a softy and all he wants is to put an end to his seventeen-year history of being a lonely, single guy. His tough-guy reputation doesn’t help him in the least. What he doesn’t know is that Kasugano Midori, sixteen-year-old in a different school, has had a crush on him for a long time. What happens when one day, the only girl who has a crush on Seiji replaces his “devil’s right hand”?

WARNING: A few panels of NSFW. Just boob shots, nothing heavy.

Gosh, I actually thought the story idea was pretty weird at first. Considering the really questionable issues that would have cropped up with the plot like that, Inuoe-sensei did a great job in keeping things light-hearted and innuendo-free.

This manga brings back a lot of memories for me. Read this sometime early in Secondary School (High School, basically), probably round 2006-2007. There was a period of time it had totally slipped my mind, until I remembered some story about a girl on a guy’s hand and then had to google the title again, HAHA. I can’t believe I forgot the title of such a good manga, aw man.

Midori Days chp 2 cover

Midori Days chp 2 cover

Was quite surprised when I googled the manga and found out that it was categorised as a ‘Shounen’. But I guess after thinking about it, it makes sense. The way Midori Days is told doesn’t exactly invoke that much of a ‘Shoujo feel’ to it. I’m not exactly sure how to explain this, but even with the really sweet and cute moments throughout, I didn’t experience many ‘fuwa fuwa’, tooth-achingly shoujo feelings and emotions that came with the genre. That might be one reason why the manga appealed to me so much. It’s not that I don’t like the ‘fuwa fuwa’ of Shoujo, far from that. This was more like a breath of fresh air. It was able to portray the clear romance between these two characters in pretty unique way. I ALSO DIDN’T REALISE MIDORI DAYS WAS CATEGORISED AS A ‘HAREM’??

This manga has a pretty comical art style which relies heavily on the whacky and slightly deformed expressions of characters to portray emotions. It’s not overly complicated in any way. I still find myself laughing out loud over the expressions and actions of each character.

From what I’ve heard from friends, Inoue-sensei’s other works are apparently much weirder than this. Can’t say that doesn’t pique my curiousity XD I’ll probably go through those after I re-read Midori Days.

Been having a lot of trouble writing for posts nowadays, brain block and then I KEEP RUNNING OUT OF TIME, GAH. I apologise. Please excuse my tardiness and horrible efforts. I’ll do better.

 

Leave a Reply

