Manga: All You Need Is Kill

Spent the day finishing up an assignment and my brain is currently mush, but since the 15 minute group report video is currently exporting, I have and hour and 15 mins to write a post before the day is over. I hope I make it.

Manga: All You Need Is Kill「オール・ユー・ニード・イズ・キル」

 thumb-11521-ANK_01_web   75bc6b44892ceea71351d9aad81b41c21403213227_full

  All You Need Is Kill volumes 1 and 2 covers

All You Need Is Kill is actually a Japanese military science fiction novel written by Sakuraza Hiroshi and illustrated by Abe Yoshitoshi that was published in 2004. HOWEVER, what I would be talking about in this post would the be manga adaptation of that light novel. Spanning only 2 volumes and 17 chapters, the manga adaptation of this series is categorised as Seinen, action. It is written by Takeuchi Ryosuke and illustrated by Obata Takeshi, serialised from Jan to May 2014. A graphic novel adaptation was released in North America in May 2014. What might be most familiar to most of you guys, would be the film adaptation, titled Edge of Tomorrow that was released at the end of May 2014. The English-language film tie-in edition of the novel also used this title.

An alien race called “Mimics” have taken over most of the world on a mission to take over the human race. Kiriya Keiji is a new recruit in the United Defense Force, which is battling against these “Mimics”. On his first day of deployment, Keiji and his unit are slaughtered… Or was that a dream? Keiji soon realises that, for some inexplicable reason, every time he dies, he is resurrected and returned back to the day before the battle. Why does this keep happening and how can Keiji escape from this vicious, never-ending cycle?

WARNING: Violence and gore. Death. A lot of deaths. CYCLES of deaths.

Just looking at the history behind this whole series, you’d have such high-expectations. I mean c’mon, a light novel turned into a manga, a graphic novel, AND A HOLLYWOOD FILM STARRING TOM CRUISE AND EMILY BLUNT?! That’s really something. I always try very hard to go into a new manga series with an unclouded head to be able to experience it without prejudice or judgement, but that proved extremely difficult this time. Only heard about the manga adaptation just before the movie came out. And after finding out the movie was based on a Japanese light novel… I can’t say I wasn’t expecting anything from the manga either.

The plot’s great! I mean, dying over and over again definitely isn’t a novel idea or anything, but I quite liked how everything was explained. From the fleshing out of the plot to the use of weapons etc. the way all those nagging questions were reasoned out in the manga was pretty interesting. I’m guessing the way the questions were resolved in the story are generally similar across all adaptations, but I wouldn’t know exactly how different the manga is from the light novels considering I’ve never read the novels (and probably never will unless I study Japanese instead of being a lazy shit,) I’ve watched Edge of Tomorrow though. But seriously…

Try not to compare them to one another as a whole.

They’re like siblings born from the same parents, (Well, different parents in this case,) but even siblings are two very different people. They have their pros and cons with similarities and differences between each one.

I thought the manga’s story was pretty damn awesome until it came to the middle of the second volume. This might just be me, but it seemed as if everything just started happening so fast and and everything was developing too rapidly. It felt like there were a few gaps in flow. The ending was just a little disappointing. But don’t get me wrong, its a great series that I’d recommend to anyone who would appreciate it. That was just what I honestly think.

All You Need Is Kill

Art by Obata Takeshi

Seeing as the mangaka behind Hikaru no Go, Death Note and Bakuman, Obata-sensei, worked on All You Need Is Kill, its pretty much a given that the art is gorgeous and detailed. Veteran Obata-sensei’s style is clean, contrasting and dynamic. What I’m a bit iffy on though, would be the design for the female lead. HAHA, I guess thinking about her design based on the character she portrays just doesn’t sit comfortably with me. Other than that, Obata-sensei’s art is absolutely gorgeous.

Looks like I’m running out of time. I’m also having trouble with figuring out how to end a lot of these posts actually. HAH.

Once I’m done with uploading this damn 15 min assignment video online, I’m done for the semester WOOP. Looking forward to tomorrow ~ And not just because I’m going out with friends either. You’ll find out why in a few hours 🙂

Leave a Reply

