Manga: Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

I feel the need to balance out how serious and… uh… mature… Berserk was about yesterday, so after listening to a friend tell me she read yesterday’s warnings and had to close the blog window without reading on, today’ll be on something anyone, and everyone, should can read XD

Manga: Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun 「月刊少女野崎くん」 a.k.a Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun

Gekkan_Shōjo_Nozaki-kun        69388 v02_front

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun Vol 1 and 2 covers

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is a (somewhat) romantic (definitely) comedy 4-Koma series written and illustrated by Tsubaki Izumi. If you’re not familiar with the term ‘4-Koma’, it’s short for Yonkoma manga (4コマ漫画) a.k.a. four cell manga and is a comic strip format generally used for the gag genre where four panels of equal size are ordered from from top to bottom.

Yonkoma

Image from Wikipedia

It started publishing in Aug 2011 and and is currently on-going with 5 individual volumes as of July 2014. A drama CD was produced in 2013 and an anime adaptation consisting of 12 episodes aired in the middle of this year. I was actually introduced to Gekkan via the anime and only started reading after it had finished airing in Sept.

Because reading (and typing) out the whole title multiple times gets really tiring, ‘Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun’ will hence forth be shortened to ‘Gekkan’. This post will only be focusing on the manga itself.

Sakura Chiyo is a high school student with a crush on schoolmate Nozaki Umetarou, but when she tries to confess to him, Nozaki mistakes her as a fan and gives her an autograph instead. When she says that she always wants to be with him, he invites her to his house to help with his manga. As the title of the series might suggest, Gekkan follows the life of shoujo mangaka, Nozaki (a.k.a. Sakiko Yumeno), Sakura, and their friends who assist them and serve as inspiration for characters in Nozaki’s best-selling manga, Let’s Fall in Love (恋しよっ, Koi Shiyo).

WARNING: Just don’t hit your head or fall off the chair laughing and you’ll be fine.

I’m not even kidding.

If you’re the kind of person who reads manga on public transport or in public places like school or work, I would honestly advise you to choose something else to read at the moment if you’d like to avoid embarrassing yourself. This is unless you are absolutely confident in being able to keep your laughter out of the blue to a minimum. Or just don’t care.

There is NO WAY to describe how stupidly hilarious this series is. It’s so brilliant it might reduce you to a stomach-aching, muscle-cramping, tear-inducing wreck of a hyena. Maybe your head might hurt from smacking it so hard trying to facepalm. I don’t know, maybe some unfortunate soul would experience the same thing I did when my friend was reading it:

Being an international student, I stay with 2 other otakus and 1 not-so-otaku in the house. Imagine dead in the night, you’re downstairs on your laptop reading something and everything’s quiet and peaceful… then suddenly you hear loud uncontrolled laughter from upstairs.

“Oh. She’s reading Gekkan.”

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun Height Chart

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun Height Chart

The focus on Gekkan is, without a doubt, its cast of amusing characters and their interactions and relationship with each other. I… don’t think there’s actually anything else to pay attention to actually… HAHAHAHA. Backgrounds are few and most panels consist of screentones depicting the different moods of a situation/character. It’s clearly evident how the whole manga is reliant on the characters being the centre of attention. I love how stereotypes are mixed and matched so you end up with a bunch of uncommon, quirky and immensely entertaining people. And if you remember when I described Gekkan as a “somewhat romance”, “definitely comedy” above, I think that hints a little on their relationships right there.

Actually caught up to Gekkan when I was in the middle of doing my final assignments for the semester. It was extremely relaxed and easy to read due to the fact that the 4-Koma format clearly breaks every page down into an original scene in itself with the chapters providing a background context, so you don’t feel as much continuous addiction like other stuff where its all cliffhanger. (Of course you still feel addiction, I just said you don’t feel AS MUCH.) A few chapters every meal was like my break before dragging myself back to work. I swear I managed to stay on assignment task too. HAHA. If you’re a little like me, it’s the kind of thing you read when you need some stress relief, a break from life, or just want to laugh, period.

I admit, I’ve never actually held much interest in 4-Komas before due to the fact that many gag series don’t hold my interest for long. But after going through Gekkan, I can confidently say I’m a lot more open to reading more 4-Koma.

Recommendations anyone?

 

2 thoughts on “Manga: Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

    • … I TEAR UP INTERNALLY EVERY SINGLE TIME SOMEONE MENTIONS THAT WORK OF ART.
      Definitely gonna write on it eventually, but that’ll mean I have to re-read and catch up on it first because the last I read until was almost 2 years ago, HAHAHHAAH. Might take awhile, but DEFINITELY.

      Thank you for reading my blog 🙂
      I’m really glad you’re enjoying it enough to request a post on a series. It means a lot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

